Hear Me Now

Hey guys!

I feel like a giant jerk that it’s taken me this long to get the review up, but Melyssa Winchester sent me a copy of Hear Me Now for me to read and review honestly, and I’m finally doing it.

22067637

This book centers on Caddy, a deaf girl, and Dillion, the school bully.  Caddy’s mom teaches at the school that Dillion attends, and for two weeks she has to attend her mom’s school since her school is closed.  She doesn’t want to go, but she does anyway.  Dillion lives to make students with special needs miserable.  When I started this book, I was like, “Nope.  No way.  I’m never going to root for a relationship between Caddy and Dillion.”  Well, I was wrong.

In the beginning, Dillion doesn’t know Caddy is deaf and can’t figure out why she’s in the special needs class.  He’s sure she must have some problem since she’s in there, and he makes it his goal once he finds out that she’s deaf to torture her the way that he’s tortured others.  The only reason their paths cross is because, as punishment for bullying, he’s put into the special needs class so that maybe he can get to know and become more compassionate towards his victims.

I really liked watching the relationship blossom between these two.  I liked their tentative friendship.  I loved the way that Caddy didn’t let Dillion push her around.  I really hated the things that happened to Caddy because of Dillion though.  Then, there were moments throughout the book when I just wanted to give both of them solid knocks on the head because they were being frustrating about the other.  They typically both had semi-valid reasons, but I still just wanted to thunk them on the head with the book.

I was really pleased with how the book ended, and I look forward to reading more books by Ms. Winchester!  I hope you guys check this book out!

Happy reading!

DeereReaderGirl

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

