Beauty in the Ashes

Hey guys!

I recently received Beauty in the Ashes from Micalea Smeltzer in exchange for an honest review.

20761170

When I first read about this book, I thought it was going to be great; I couldn’t wait to read it and get to experience the characters.

When I read about Caelan’s family it just broke my heart.  I could understand why he spiraled the way he did.  Sometimes, I really didn’t like Caelan, but I really wanted him and Sutton to end up together.  I loved how he started getting some better when Sutton was in his life.

I really enjoyed that Sutton had such a snappy personality.  There were moments when she would do something and I would just be like, “WHAT ARE YOU DOING?!”  I really loved seeing her making friends with people and not focusing completely on Caelan, even though she got evil kicks out of harassing him.

I didn’t like this book as much as I thought I was going to.  I felt pretty disappointed about a few things.

*  I hated that we never found out who killed Caelan’s family; there was absolutely zero resolution there.

*  There was another love interest out of nowhere.

*  Sutton’s bad thing from her past.

*  How everything ended up.

It wasn’t a horrible book, but it just wasn’t the book for me.  I don’t want the fact that it wasn’t my favorite to steer any of you away from reading it.  I hope that if you guys check it out that you love it!

Happy reading!

DeereReaderGirl

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

