Heart Shaped Rock

Hey guys!

Heart Shaped Rock by Laura Roppe is about Shaynee whose mom died and now she has to try and keep her family together and afloat.  Shaynee isn’t dealing with the loss well; she doesn’t want to think, hear, or speak about her mom.  Her brother desperately wants to talk about his mom and wants to still have a connection with her, but Shaynee pretty much goes postal on him any time he tries.  I had a really hard time liking, connecting with, and feeling pity for Shaynee.  I haven’t lost my mom, thank goodness, but I did lose my grandma.  It isn’t right for someone else to try to force people to mourn the same way as you.  If people want to talk about their grief they should be able to.  Overall, I didn’t really like this book as much as I thought I would.  I hope if any of you read it you’ll like it better than I did!

Happy reading!

DeereReaderGirl

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

