All In

Hey guys!

I just finished All In by Ann Garner.  

22405026

This was an interesting book.  It wasn’t quite what I was expecting.  Once I got into it, I didn’t want to put it down.

Within the first few pages, Grace gets dumped by her boyfriend, Grant, who happens to be her older brother, Cole’s, best friend. I don’t know about the rest of you, but when I got dumped, my family fully backed me and the majority of them quit liking the dude.  I know that Grant had a bad family life, and that he got really close with Grace’s family, but I just really can’t see that her family would still be able to be all warm and fuzzy at him the way they were.  That makes absolutely ZERO sense to me.  I have no siblings, so I can’t say I know exactly how that bit would have gone down in real life, but I know that my parents would never have been all, “Yeah still come over to our house even though you dumped our daughter to sleep around,” had Grant been my boyfriend.  

I really enjoyed watching Grace interact with Delaney and Jacob.  I would have really loved seeing things from Jacob’s perspective sometimes.  There were moments in this book that I just wanted to grab Grace and yell at her, because she was being a doofus.  I could totally relate to her feelings concerning Grant at the beginning of the book, but later on, I wanted her to just stop.  If you’re going to say that you don’t love someone anymore and that you’re not going to go running after them to help them when they’re in trouble, don’t go doing it anyway.  There were a few things in the book that I would have thought would have been brought up more because they seemed important, but they didn’t end up playing as big of a roll as I thought they would.  

I’m pretty sure my favorite part of this book was Jacob. . . Okay, Jacob just was my favorite part of this book.  He was the character that I felt I connected to best out of all of them.  He felt the most real of all the characters.  I could understand him better than I could understand Grace.  I’m not saying that I spent the whole book being in Grace’s head going I don’t know what’s going on here; what I mean is that I didn’t always understand why Grace did what she did.  There was one point in the book where, if I had been her, I would have called Jacob and told him what went down right away just to have it out in the open and over with, but Grace just doesn’t say anything, running the risk of someone else saying something about it, and it comes back to bite her in the butt.  I was really pleased with the ending, although I felt like most, if not all of the issues could have been dealt with through better communication.  I really hope that Ms. Garner writes more books in this series focusing on other characters.  I’d love to see Grant have his own book, or Collins, or Lincoln for that matter!

I ended up giving this book three stars on Goodreads, and I hope that some of you will check it out.

Happy reading!

DeereReaderGirl

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

