King Sized Beds and Happy Trails

Hey guys!

I read a really stellar book the other day!

18245056

I loved this book!  I was introduced to the series by True Love and Magic Tricks, and I am so glad that I picked that book up!  I was actually given this book by Theresa Paolo in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!

This series focuses on Nate and Kaylee’s best friends Ryan and Lexie.  Ryan has had it bad for Lexie for a very long time, but Lexie only has eyes for jerk canoe extraordinaire, Sean.  All Lexie wants is to prove that she isn’t white trash, that she won’t turn out like her mom, but with a catty girl out to get her, that’s nearly impossible.   Lexie gets the idea that if she can only go on the senior ski trip that she’ll be able to get Sean to want her instead of the girl he’s with right now.  Unfortunately, Lexie can’t afford to go unless she give up all her savings, so Ryan, her ever faithful best friend and behind the scenes knight in shining armor makes it happens, but without telling her the complete truth about how it works out.  On the ski trip, Ryan and Lexie end up rooming together, and their friendship is tested as they both struggle with what ifs.

I really, REALLY loved this book.  It was a pleasure to read, and I honestly can’t wait to read the next book.  I loved seeing how Ryan dealt with his feelings while Lexie was oblivious.  I felt bad for him that he was there for her through everything and that he was trying to help her get the guy, even if it hurt him.  

tumblr_m3a9qyAFKe1qhqya5o1_250

I also loved that Nate was in this book, because I love Nate.  These two ladies sure know how to write fabulous male leads.

tumblr_lmmu984Lvf1qjrc4bo1_500

tumblr_lkipreL5kF1qiqs2no1_400

^That’s how I feel about Ryan and Nate.

There were times throughout the book that I was really sad for the both of them, because Lexie obviously had feelings for him, she just wouldn’t act on them or admit them, and Ryan just wasn’t pick up on it.  I honestly couldn’t see what Lexie saw in Sean aside from him being cute, because after seeing some of their interactions, and getting to know him better I was completely turned off, and obviously I loved Ryan, but still.

tumblr_n8eq67HD3O1sdebxho8_250

Ryan makes a BIG mistake later on in the book, and I was really sad when everythingn got messed up.  I loved the way the book ended though, butterflies and hearts galore!

This book really drove home for me that people aren’t always what they seem, and that the grass isn’t always greener on the other side.  It also is good for teaching people that it doesn’t matter where you come from or what your background is, you are good enough, there are people that love you, and you don’t have to prove that to the people that really matter.  The whole idea of the friendzone bothers me since I’ve gotten nothing but grief from supposed friends that have been “friendzoned,” but this book also shows that sometimes you can go from being just friends to being in a relationship.  Sometimes people don’t realize how big their feelings are for a person, or they’re scared to act on what they feel, or sometimes they just don’t feel that way about you.  That may not have been what happened in this book, but if you’re really someone’s friend, you need to respect their feelings.  People can’t just magically have the same feelings for you that you have for them, and it’s unfair to expect that they will.  The thing I loved the most about Ryan was that event though he wanted Lexie to have feelings for him, he didn’t try to force his feelings on her.  He just let their friendship be because he knew how she felt about Sean.  Granted, if Ryan had been open about his feelings, things may have gone better, but still he didn’t try to force her or pressure her into liking him back.

Because I always have so much fun with gifs I felt like I needed to show you guys some gifs that I felt represented how Lexie and Ryan were feeling throughout the book, or how I was feeling for them or wanted to say to them.

Ryan:

200  tumblr_mn3zf4iHOp1sp9fcho1_r1_500tumblr_m1ghsxupK81r9ivt2o1_250

 tumblr_lnsnjdc6f01qlt9puo1_500

 tumblr_lzb8nxJWhG1qaeet6o1_250

 tumblr_m1pwdwzDuk1qakh43o1_500

^Except Watts would be Ryan and Amanda would be Sean.

tumblr_mcgvx4qfmW1rio9qmo1_500And really, I only had one gif that I felt represented Lexie throughout the whole book:tumblr_lwh4baWtey1qcrnazo1_500

I only had one gif for Lexie, because this just fit her.  She wanted Sean and then she wanted Ryan, and ultimately, she just wanted people to love her and want her around.

I really hope you guys check out this series!  It’s the bomb!

Happy reading!

DeereReaderGirl

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

