Perfection in Perfect Opposite

Goodness gracious me.

22378800

I received Perfect Opposite from Zoya Tessi, the author of this kick butt novel, in exchange for an honest review.

This book blew me away.  I loved every second of this book, and it took an astounding amount of effort to put it down.  Sasha, our main character, has a relatively normal life, except for, you know, the fact that her dad is a Russian arms dealer.  Sasha hates being followed around by goons, but because of huge misunderstanding, she’s going to have to be under constant, up close and personal surveillance, and she is NOT happy about it.  Not only will she be followed all the time, but her father’s thug is going to be living in her apartment with her and her roommate Bethany.  Now, if I was her, I would have called Bethany pronto and let her know about the new living arrangements, but Sasha didn’t do that, instead she went home and went to bed.  The next morning, during her bubble bath, a tattooed, pierced, scary looking dude shows up and she informs him he’s at the wrong place, shuts the door, and gets ready for the day.  When Sasha comes back out, scary dude and her father are in the living room, and if I’d have been her I’d have reacted like this:

giphy (9)

I’m just going to say right now that Sasha has an INSANE temper, and at times can be pretty childish, but for the most part I can understand and agree with her, so I let that slide.  Her new bodyguard’s name is Aleksey, but he goes by Alex.  I’m just going to throw this out there right now; I have a weakness for Russian men in the books I read, and bad boys, so Alex was just perfect for me from his mohawk, to his surly attitude, to his ripped physique, his pierced eyebrow, and his tattoos.  That man.  Mmm!  Oh!  And his motorcycle!

 tumblr_n58b1urTqu1tak1i0o4_250

ella-enchanted-hattie-faints-o

Sasha and Alex do NOT get along at all.  They are constantly fighting, but somehow Sasha realizes she’s attracted to him.  The two are pretty awful to each other sometimes *cough cough* goulash *cough cough*, but that didn’t stop me from rooting for the two of them.  I cannot tell you how many times throughout this book I fangirled and squealed and yelled at the book and at the characters.  When I finally ventured from my room about halfway through, my mom did an impression of me that sounded like Chewbacca if that tells you anything.  I liked seeing how Alex and Sasha both worked through their own issues.  If I was Sasha I don’t think I could have gone on as normally as she did after what she experienced.  I would have fallen apart.  As for Alex, that man has secrets, big, huge secrets.  There was a twist in the story that I didn’t see coming, but that made perfect sense, and I loved that, but then there was another twist that really upset me.  I was so thrilled with how this book went.  I loved that things happened that I wasn’t expecting and that I was able to call a few things.  More than once I just curled my toes and squealed my heart out and felt like I should have something posted on my door like this:

 tumblr_inline_n5hgv6ewTr1rk4v4i

 I seriously loved this book.  I wish that there was a sequel, or that I had enough time on my hands to read it three more times instead of having to move on to something else.

I really hope you’ll check out this book guys!  I highly recommend it!  If my shining review didn’t convince you, maybe my favorite line will, “Have mercy! . . . This is destroying my walrus face!”

Happy reading!

DeereReaderGirl

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

