Played

Hey guys!

I finished another NetGalley book tonight!

16177036

Played by Liz Fichera is the second book in the Hooked series, and was released May 27, 2014.

This book was just awesome.  I know I fangirl a lot, but I did some serious fangirling over this book.  There weren’t references to any of my fandoms or anything, but there were just moments in the story when I needed to squeal or sigh happily or just yell at the characters for being idiots, and I enjoyed every second.  The story focuses on Sam and Riley.  Riley is the “perfect” daughter, and is chomping at the bit to get out from under that title.  Sam is a Native American boy with a chip on his shoulder.  The two meet when they’re on a leadership trip, and they do not like each other.  When the two are paired together for a scavenger hunt, things go awry, and they get stuck on the side of a mountain in the pouring rain and have to resort to cuddling for warmth.  In order to pass the time, they try to get to know each other better, but they tend to set each other off.  Finally, Riley tells Sam an embarrassing secret (that she let Drew inject her forehead with botox) and later Sam tells Riley that he is in love with her brother’s girlfriend.  Eventually they are rescued, and they somehow became friends.  I really enjoyed how these two interacted with each other.  Sometimes I just wanted to take Riley by the shoulders and shake her and be like, “Listen to Sam!”  Riley didn’t always make the most intelligent choices, but she, most of the time, made her stupid choices trying to do something nice for Sam.  Sam was not an open or emotional person at all, and because of that things never really worked in his favor.  Sam did learn to open up, but if he would have just done it sooner, a lot of the issues in the book would have been non-issues.  I was very please with how the book ended, and I can’t wait to get my hands on Hooked so I can read about Riley’s brother’s romance.

I would highly recommend this book and I hope you all check it out!

Happy reading!

DeereReaderGirl

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

