Making Waves

Hey guys!

I just finished Making Waves by Ophelia London.  Even though this was a novella, I don’t normally enjoy novellas, I really enjoyed this one.  The story centers on Justine, a reporter who was spurned six months ago for no apparent reason, and has a debilitating fear of water.  Justine’s fear of water isn’t like she is scared of the bath tub or rain, she’s, in her words, scared of anything bigger than a hot tub.  Justine has come to Hawaii to visit her friend Ellie, but she doesn’t really spend a lot of time with Ellie.  Within a few hours of getting with her friend, Justine finds out that Chase Ryder, a big name in surfing, has come out of retirement for the Eddie.  When Justine gets to where the competition is going to take place, she is determined to get an interview with Chase Ryder in order to wow her boss and keep her job.  The problem?  Chase Ryder is actually someone from Justine’s past.  You better believe that Justine is going to pull out all the stops to get the interview she wants and the answers she needs.

I think my favorite thing about this book was the way Ophelia London portrayed Justine’s anxiety.  When Justine thought about the ocean she got to feeling scared, and getting in the water makes her terrified.  I can relate to this, because I suffer from anxiety.  I may not be scared of water, but I am scared of snakes, so tall grass is to me and water is to Justine.  I was really happy for how Justine concerning how things worked out.  I wish that problems and misunderstandings could be resolved in real life as quickly as they are in fiction.  I would definitely recommend this book!

Happy reading!

DeerReaderGirl

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

