Plus One

Hey guys!

I finished another NetGalley book.

The book I read was Plus One by Elizabeth Fama.  This story is set in modern times, the only difference is that in 1918 people got segregated into Day and Night by our government to help end the flu pandemic.  The story focuses on Sol, a Smudge (Night person), who is going to break laws and risk imprisonment to bring her niece to her blind, dying grandfather, Poppu.  For whatever reason, these people spoke a LOT of French.  

I had such high hopes for this book.  I saw the cover and the blurb, and thought that this book was going to be awesome.  The first part of the book was slow and made me want to give up, but because my Honors English teacher always told us we needed to read more than like five chapters before we gave up on a book, I kept reading, and the book got better, but just like life, what goes up must come down.  The ending of the book left me disappointed.  Yes, there was a promise of something, but it was just a let down.  One thing I liked about the book was that there were certain things that I thought would happened and they did.  I think that if I hadn’t gone into this book with big ideas of what it was going to be about that maybe I’d have been less disappointed.

Happy reading!

DeereReaderGirl

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

