Getting Happy with Get Happy

Hey guys!

I finished another NetGalley book!  

Last night, I finished Get Happy by Mary Amato.  I really enjoyed this book!  I had a hard time putting this book down to do things in my day to day life.  I’m sure that throughout this book my parents thought I had finally lost my mind; I was squealing and giggling and bemoaning certain events.  I loved Minerva’s individuality and quirkiness.  I really liked Fin and Minerva’s friendship.  Everyone should have a friend like Fin.  When we meet Hayes. . . Goodness.  The level of my excitement and adoration would have been embarrassing if anyone else had heard me squealing.  There were only a couple of things I had trouble with about this book.  Sometimes it felt as if we were reading Minerva’s diary, but other times it felt like we were experiencing life with Minerva, and it was a little weird.  My only other complaint was that the blurb about the book gives away something I would have thought should have been a big surprise, and I felt bad that I read the blurb.  I liked how real Minerva seemed.  Minerva had immature thoughts and feelings, and she could act immaturely, too.  It was almost a relief to read about a girl that seemed real as opposed to a girl who was basically perfect and could always get over her shortcomings relatively easily.  I really hope that there is a sequel to Get Happy, because I would definitely read it!  I highly recommend this book!

Happy reading!

DeereReaderGirl

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

