The Curse Keepers

Hey guys!

I finished another NetGalley book!

This evening I finished The Curse Keepers by Denise Grover Swank. I mostly enjoyed this book. There were a few things that bothered me, but the story itself was intriguing. I didn’t like the overabundance of profanity, and I could have done without all the mature situations.

The book is about Roanoke Island and the Lost Colony. Ellie’s family has their own theory about what happened to the Lost Colony, bus she doesn’t buy into it. When we first meet Ellie, she realizes she should have paid better attention to what her dad told her about the curse, and she ends up breaking it and only having a week to close the gates and send the spirits, gods, and demons back. How did Ellie break the curse? By touching the sexiest man alive’s hand. The guy runs out and Ellie goes to her second job before her date with Dwight. Ugh. Dwight. Chapter three. If I could have known ahead of time how awkward and uncomfortable chapter three would be I would have skipped it. Ellie learns the name of the other Curse Keeper (She’s a curse keeper too, it’s all tied up in the Lost Colony stuff.). The man’s name is Collin, and he is all the things a bad boy should be. Collin is sexy, and rude, and infuriating. From this point on, Ellie’s life is completely turned upside down. I loved how Ellie and Collin interacted; they were funny, they were infuriating, they were just great. I wish that Ellie had used her brain and put two and two together more often. I felt like Ellie spent a lot of her time thinking about sex, and it was pretty disappointing. How the book ended though, I called that. I KNEW that was going to happen, and I wish that Ellie could have put the pieced together and figured it out instead of being blindsided.
I would recommend this book, but if you don’t like swearing or smut I’ll warn you that you’re going to be doing a lot of mental/internal editing.

Happy reading!

DeereReaderGirl

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

