Reading Joss Whedon

Hey guys!

Well I didn’t enjoy Reading Joss Whedon as much as I thought I would.  I was so excited to read about Joss Whedon and his shows, but this was not what I was expecting.  I should have paid better attention when I was reading about the book, because I thought it would be some sort of narrative, but instead it was just a bunch of research papers and essays.  The essays themselves were good, but to me, it just seemed dry and was a little bit draggy.  My favorite part was getting to read about Firefly.  I enjoyed hearing what the essyas had to say about things that happened on BuffyAngel, and Firefly, but since I haven’t seen most of the shows the book talked about, I just found it really hard to get into.  I think that this book would be better suited for people studying media, not fangirls like me.  For anyone that has watched the majority of his shows, I think you might enjoy it, and I would recommend it, but for those of you who are like me and mostly enjoy fiction, I would probably pass this one by.

I’d like to thank NetGalley for providing me with this book, in return for an honest review.

Happy reading!

DeereReaderGirl

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

