I’ve Been Slacking

Hey guys!

I know I’ve been AWOL lately, and . . .  

Image

There has been a lot going on!  I went out on a couple of dates with the concert guy, and that was fun, but it’s over now and I’m okay with that.  I’ve been crazy busy with classes and teaching.  In all honesty, right now I should be doing discussion posts and reading my books for my classes right now, but I’ll get to all that good stuff later.  I turned twenty-one on Monday.  Yay me!  I didn’t go out drinking, and I don’t intend to, but I did get to come home after a long day at both of my jobs and have some of my favorite foods with my family and my best friend, and I got to play pitch, but most important of all, I got to watch the newest episode of Castle!!  Just kidding, although getting to watch brand new Castle on my birthday was pretty stellar.  In all honesty, I really hadn’t been that excited for my birthday since it was going to be my second one without my grandma, but my aid and my students made it really special for me, and then my parents sent me some gorgeous tie-dye roses at my second job!  It was great!  Now to get to the stuff I know you all really care about: the books.

Okay!  So!  The last time I posted I was reading Juliet Immortal3:59, and Indiana Jones and the Unicorn’s Legacy.  Not surprisingly, I finished those.  I enjoyed all of them, but Juliet Immortal and 3:59  were the ones I enjoyed the most.  I really feel like there needs to be a sequel to 3:59, and I will most definitely be reading Romeo Redeemed, just as soon as I am able to get my hands on it!  I read a lot of books between then and now.  I finished the Morganville Vampires series, I read the first book in a series and just wanted to flush the book it was so horrible, but for the most part I enjoyed the books I read.  There were so many books that I’m just not even going to try to tell you guys about all of them, so I’ll tell you about the books I’ve read this year.

I won a galley of Prince of Shadows, by Rachel Caine, and I had really high hopes for it.  Sadly, the book didn’t meet my expectations.  The story was all over the place and I wasn’t really sure what it was supposed to be about.  I know that the description says that it is about Benvolio and Rosaline falling in love or whatever, but it didn’t really deal in their “love story” too much.  I felt like there was stuff in the story that could have been left out that would have made the story so much better.

I also won an audio book version of Carnival of Death, which is by L. Ron Hubbard.  First of all, I hate audio books.  I cannot deal with them.  Secondly, Mr. Hubbard can be rather dry, and the first of the two stories was just miserable to listen to; more often than not I zoned out so I wouldn’t have to hear about the head hunters and the drug case and blah, blah, blah.  The second story was more entertaining by far!  It was an interesting story about a possibly haunted stretch of train tracks, and this guy gets sucked into it and he tries to help the long dead passengers change their fate, and almost succeeds too!  I wish that the second story had been a standalone and had been longer.

The next book I read is a book I borrowed from a friend.  The book was The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson.  This was a weird story.  The main character is a princess, but not your normal princess.  Our Princess Elisa is fat and anxious and has, what I would guess to be a sapphire that they call the Godstone embedded in her belly button.  She ends up married to this cowardly jerk of a king, but obviously she should be with his guard Hector.  She ends up getting kidnapped, loses weight in a trek across the desert, becomes a rebel leader, loses the dude she thinks she “loves” (I say it like that because I still believe that she should be Hector.), eventually returns to her husband’s kingdom as a total hottie, and then he’s finally interested in her, but then there’s a battle to be fought, and things end well for Elisa, but not so much for her hubby.

The next book I read was Bound to the Warrior, by Barbara Phinney.  This book is about Ediva, who was abused by her husband and has lost her faith in God.  She ends up in another arranged marriage to the hunky Adrien.  Ediva is a Saxon and she doesn’t want a Norman for a king, let alone for a husband, so when the king forces Ediva to marry Adrien, she is none too pleased.  Anyways, they butt heads a lot, but eventually find that they love each other, and Ediva finds her way back to God.

Next, I read Fins Are Forever and Just for Fins, by Tera Lyn Childs.  Um, I loved these books.  I loved this whole series, and I know that there is a novella coming out, but I need more books from this series.  I want a Quince of my own.  I literally finished these books within the span of a few hours over the course of a few days.  I was so excited to see what happened with Lilly and Quince and how she was going to handle her merlife vs life on land.

I read The Vicious Deep by Zoraida Córdova, and it was pretty good.  It was weird to have the main character be a merman, but I enjoyed it.  The one thing I didn’t enjoy Tristan’s hormonal, sixteen year old boy thoughts all the time, but I appreciated how realistic he was in the midst of his merperson-ness.

Finally, I read Enshadowed by Kelly Creagh.  People.  This book.  My feels resemble Pinfeathers after he fights Scrimshaw.  If you’ve read the book you know what I mean.  If you haven’t read the book, read it.  Okay.  I was so upset that Varen and Isobel were separated at the end of Nevermore, and I so hoped I would see them reunited at the end of this book.  I was stupid to hope for a reunion.  Stupid and naive I tell you!  Poor Isobel goes through this whole book basically never knowing if she’s dreaming or awake.  It tore at me to see Isobel starting to seem crazy.  It also tore at me that I only got one or two scenes of Varen in the whole book!  Now, if you haven’t read the book, but want to stop reading and go to the next paragraph.  So I was thrilled when Isobel finally made it to where Varen was.  I just knew that they would somehow reconcile and that maybe she’d be stuck there with him and then they would have to work together in the next book to get out of there.  I was so wrong.  When Isobel finally reaches Varen and tries to talk to him about the stuff he may have seen or heard while she tried to convince everyone she wasn’t crazy HE THROWS HER OFF A CLIFF!  For all he knows he’s killed her, and if she dies there she’ll become like Reynolds!  So imagine my surprise when she wakes up as an astral something or other in the hospital.  I was all, “YAY!”  So I really hope that I interpreted it right that she’s still alive, because I cannot deal with the thought that she could be like Reynolds now.  Just no.  And then!  THEN Varen is stomping around where Pinfeathers and Scrimshaw fought and he finds Isobel’s little butterfly watch and, again if I interpreted this right, realizes that hey yeah that really was Isobel and she really did come back for you and yeah that’s right you THREW HER OFF A CLIFF!  So he’s all, “AAAAAAH!”  and the book is over and like I said, my feels resemble Pinfeathers after his fight with Scrimshaw.  So after I’m done with the book, it’s four in the morning and I just don’t know how to deal with what I just read, so I go searching for a release date for Oblivion, and I find one: August 26, 2014.  How am I supposed to wait that long?!  I teared up a little bit when I saw how long I am going to have to wait for that book, but like I said it was four in the morning so it could have been yawn induced tear stuff.  I think exhaustion, being emotionally drained after that ending, and just the impatient fangirl inside of me couldn’t release my feelings any other way.  I literally had no words to express how I felt, and still feel.  I can talk to my mom and my fellow fangirl S about it, but they haven’t read the books. They understand my feelings to a point, but because they haven’t read the books they just cannot understand the level of my feels.  I don’t think I’ve ever had so many feels over a book in my whole entire life.  THEN, to top it all off, my dad came in the house and found me in the throes of yet another rant to my mom, so I told him I couldn’t deal with life at the moment and he wanted to know why, but when I tried to tell him he cut me off and told me that I should just get over it because it’s make believe.  I know he was just trying to be funny, but it still bothered me.  I know that Varen and Isobel aren’t really real, that I’m never going to run into them on the street, but for the time that I was reading the book, and when I angst and fangirl over it, it is real to me.  He came in here while I was writing this, and hoped that I had mentioned his earlier statement in my blog.  I guess he thinks my blog is cool, and I know he didn’t mean anything bad by his earlier statement, but I feel bad for him that he apparently has never been so touched by a book that it’s like the characters are real for a moment in time.

Right now, I’m reading Fangirl and Beauty in Disguise.  Fangirl is actually very good, and I feel like I can relate to Cather even though she’s even more extreme in her social awkwardness and oddities than I am.  I also really like Beauty in Disguise, but I haven’t gotten very far in it because of the last five books (including Fangirl) that I mentioned.

Happy reading!

DeereReaderGirl

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

